Custom Search


Sunday 01 August 2004

Paranasal sinus aspergillosis: its categorization to develop a treatment protocol.

By: Panda NK, Balaji P, Chakrabarti A, Sharma SC, Reddy CE.

Mycoses 2004 Aug;47(7):277-83

A prospective study was conducted in 25 consecutive patients of paranasal sinus aspergillosis to categorize and treat them based on a fixed treatment protocol. The three types of aspergillosis categorized as per definitive criteria were chronic invasive (six), non-invasive (fungus ball) (seven) and non-invasive destructive (12). Adjuvant chemotherapy was employed in non-invasive destructive and chronic invasive disease. Ketoconazole was used in the first variety and itroconazole in the latter. Only two patients had recurrence after a mean follow-up of 11 months (range: 6-20 months). They belonged to the non-invasive destructive category and the recurrence had progressed to invasive variety. It is suggested that non-invasive destructive disease should be followed up regularly with endoscopic examination, CT and fungal serology to detect recurrence. Categorization of the paranasal sinus aspergillosis helps to institute proper treatment. Adjuvant chemotherapy in the form of ketoconazole along with surgery is effective in non-invasive destructive disease to prevent recurrence and progression to invasive disease. Chronic invasive disease with its propensity to involve orbit and intracranial cavity should be managed at the earliest with surgery and itraconazole.

Use of this site is subject to the following terms of use